Sunday, May 20, 2007

Mars changes its wheys after veggie outcry...

Mars has abandoned plans to use animal products in its chocolate, and has apologised to vegetarians.

As posted earlier in the week, it was revealed that the firm intended substituting the whey in some of its chocolate bars from a vegetarian source to one with traces of the animal enzyme, rennet.

The Vegetarian Society organised a campaign against the move, and within a few days more than 6,000 consumers bombarded parent company Masterfoods with phone calls and emails. Forty MPs joined the protest.

Announcing the u-turn, Mars now says it became very clear, very quickly that they had made a mistake.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Suspect the whole thing was scripted in advance for free publicity.